Eidgenössische Ethikkommission für die Biotechnologie im Ausserhumanbereich EKAH

-»This version is meant for browsers without CSS support mainly for visually disabled users. For a more advanced layout please use a more recent browser like Firefox 2.0 or Internet Explorer 7.«-

Begin language selection

Begin main navigation

Begin sub navigation

Begin navigator

Homepage  >  The Committee  >  Members of the ECNH


Begin content area

Members of the ECNH

The 12 independent members of the ECNH are ethicists from various disciplines (philosophy, theology, biology, medicine and law), representing different viewpoints. The members and the Chair are appointed by the Federal Council.

Members of the ECNH 2014

Name First Name, OccupationFunction
Pfleiderer Georg, Prof. Dr. theol., Professor of Systematic Theology/ Ethics, University of BaselChair
Arnold Markus, Dr. theol., Lecturer of Ethics and Director of Studies at the Institute of Religious Education, University of LucerneMember
Baertschi Bernard, Ph.D., Senior Lecturer at the Department of Philosophy, University of Geneva (member until July 2014)Member
Betzler Monika, Prof. Dr., Chair in Practical Philosophy at the Philosophy Department, University of BerneMember
Bürki Kurt, Prof. em., Dr., Professor emeritus of Laboratory Animal Science, Basel. Until end of January 2013: Director of the Institute of Laboratory Animal Science, University of ZurichMember
Gelinsky Eva, Dr. agrar., Research assistant at ProSpecieRara, staff member of the Initiative for GE-free Seed and Breeding (IG Saatgut)Member
Klauser-Reucker Cornelia, M.D., general practioner FMH, doctor in Psychosomatics and Psychosocial Medicine and medical hypnosis, Caslano (member until July 2014)Member
Mahlmann Matthias, Prof. Dr., Chair of Legal Theory, Legal Sociology and International Public Law at the Faculty of Law, University of ZurichMember

Neuhaus Jean-Marc, Prof. Dr., Professor of Biochemistry and Molecularbiology, University of Neuchâtel


Thurnherr Urs, Prof. Dr. phil. I, Professor of Philosophy at the University of Education, Karlsruhe (Germany)


Wild Markus, Prof. Dr, Professor of Theoretical Philosophy at the Philosophy Department, University of BaselMember
Zanetti Véronique, Prof. Dr., Professor of Ethics and Political Philosophy, University of Bielefeld (Germany)Member

Last updated on: 03.02.2015

Further information

Federal Ethics Committee on Non-Human Biotechnology ECNH
info@ekah.admin.ch | Limitation of liability, Data protection and Copyright